Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Levine-Perre What Work IsFrom the poet and narrator, Juan-Paolo Perre:

“The past year has been a significant one for me. The end of 2014 saw the release of my début collection of poetry, “A Confederacy of Joy”, the result of a prodigal return of sorts to poetry after 30 years of polishing other parts of my mosaic-ed life.

I dedicated the book to the poet Philip Levine who had been a guiding force in my life and a kindred spirit since being introduced to his work by the poet Jon Davis, then editor at the literary magazine CUTBANK, in 1981.

His death on 14. February of this year came as a heavy blow to me in particular. You see I’m not sure if my mentor ever got a chance to read my book, the book that was informed in large part by him and dedicated to him.

I have a tradition on Labor Day of each year to revisit his poem, “What Work Is” and to post it widely across social media in an offering of my respect and esteem to his resounding visionary voice. This year, tinged with a mix of sorrow, gratitude and recollection, I’ve decided to record this spoken word version of his powerful poem.”

Please listen and share freely.

Siena Press
[Los Angeles – London UK]
7. September 2015

