Tags

, , , , , , ,

Three years ago, after the shootings in Newtown and whilst preparing my first collection for publication, I was angry and frustrated with that event and its handling, particularly, by the media. I vowed that with each such subsequent shooting in America I would issue a new revision. At the point that my book went to press there had already been several more shootings.

When the book was published I stopped doing revisions as it gave me no satisfaction to do so. In fact, its sole effect was like a tolling of a bell, a resounding and penetrating sonic gash that brought more anger, more frustration.

A couple of days ago I read an article by Caroline Mortimer in “The Independent” newspaper stating that since Sandy Hook,

There have been 894 instances of mass shootings in the United States since the murder of 20 children and six of their teachers at a school in Connecticut in December 2012.

The incident was the deadliest mass shooting at a school in US history and the second deadliest mass shooting by a single person after the Virginia Tech massacre in 2007.

I am moved to revisit this poem once again, no revision, just a melancholic regard once more.

2015-08-29 12.11.49

