Tags

, , , ,

Prosody and me got back together recently.

We broke up a while ago.

 

We had something prismatic and it got mighty

Painful at times – a perfect unison of sweet nectar and muddled ripe fruit.

 

Well, we never quite broke things off

But kept a kind of friends with benefits thing with no community property:

 

She got to keep her devastating line breaks

And I got to keep a sinewy vocabulary and spidery assonance.

 

It was all fair and amicable but then I broke things off:

Cold feet/Warm pericardium, I guess – my heart was in it but I wasn’t.

 

But she’s my perfect mate, my soul’s mate –

Almost too good to be true.

 

So I’m back again for another go at redemption

To settle down these wild oats left –

 

In a chiaroscurist tango of theme and variations:

Coming and going, fight and flight and the recto-verso of golden currency.

